Regan Zambri Long PLLC
English Español
Call Now 202-960-4596
Menu
11/21/06   |   By

Fines for Lapsed Automobile Liability Insurance in DC, MD and VA | DC Metro Area Personal Injury Law Blog

5 stars

D.C., Virginia, and Maryland have specific requirements for motorists if their automobile liability insurance lapses.

D.C. requires all vehicle owners with lapsed or expired automobile liability insurance to immediately surrender their license plates and registration. In addition, all drivers who are stopped by a police officer in the District of Columbia are required to display license, registration, and proof of insurance, or face a fine.

Virginia allows uninsured vehicles to register and be driven, at the driver’s sole risk, for a $500 fee. Insurance carriers notify the DMV of vehicles whose insurance has lapsed. Uninsured motorists who fail to pay this additional fee will have their licenses and registration suspended.

Maryland uninsured drivers can lose their license and registration and even be required to pay a $150 fine for the first 30 days and $7 per day after that.

Regan Zambri Long
Posted In
Uncategorized
Share This Article

Archives

Schedule a Free Consultation

Have you or your loved one sustained injuries in Washington DC, Maryland or Virginia? Regan Zambri Long PLLC has the best lawyers in the country to analyze your case and answer the questions you may have.

Call 202-960-4596

  • Please do not send any confidential or sensitive information in this form. This form sends information by non-encrypted email, which is not secure. Submitting this form does not create an attorney-client relationship.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Back to Top